What is Accreditation?

A school may become accredited when it meets the standards of educational performance established by an accrediting agency.  The accreditation process may initially take two years or more to complete and is an involved, costly process.

Accreditation means that a school has met national standards of educational performance that have been established by an impartial nongovernmental agency. The accrediting of schools by professional, national, and regional associations of like schools (schools with similar objectives and subject content) has long characterized the American educational scene. Through the years, accreditation of schools has been the most authoritative and reliable index of a school’s concern for integrity toward its students and quality education.

While an accrediting agency is not part of the government, the U.S. Department of Education has officially recognized several agencies. NACCAS is such a nationally recognized accrediting agency under the provisions of Chapter 33, Title 38, U.S. Code and subsequent legislation.

How does a school become accredited?

A school becomes accredited by formal action of the Commission. It bases its action on information submitted by the school and the reports of a specially appointed inspection team that has visited the school and evaluated it according to established standards.

Accreditation does not mean that all schools are the same. It does mean that they conform to a set of common minimum standards established by the Commission. These standards demonstrate a wide range of acceptability. No attempt is made by the Commission to determine relative excellence among accredited schools. Therefore, schools are listed alphabetically by states.

Schools are re-evaluated at least once every six (6) years. Continuation of accreditation depends on maintenance of the established standards. If a school fails to maintain the prescribed requirements, an interval of time is allowed for it to correct its deficiencies. If these deficiencies are not remedied during this interval, accreditation is withdrawn.

The Commission meets four (4) times a year in person, and at least four (4) times a year via teleconferencing to service our schools. NACCAS is incorporated in the state of Delaware as a 501(c) nonprofit corporation.

Who does the Accreditation?

A school selects an accrediting agency that specializes in its field of education.  There may be several agencies that a school could choose among.

Who Accredits the Accreditation Agency?

Accrediting agencies must be recognized by the Department of Education for its accredited schools to participate in Federal Student Aid programs.   The Department of Education does not recognize all accrediting agencies.  To be recognized, an accrediting agency must meet stringent guidelines and maintain performance standards of The Department of Education.

How does a School become Accredited?This institution is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission for Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS).  NACCAS is recognized by the United States Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for post-secondary schools and programs of cosmetology arts and sciences, electrology, and massage.

The process begins by applying to become a candidate and attending at least one workshop to learn about the agency’s standards of educational performance and how schools must report to NACCAS.  Schools must be in existence for a minimum of two years before they can become accredited.  Once a school is granted its candidacy, it begins a process which may take two years or more.  This process includes the school reporting to NACCAS about how it meets NACCAS’ standards.

Once accredited, schools continue to meet standards issued by NACCAS.  Standards are influenced by the expectations of Congress and The Department of Education.  Accrediting agencies help schools continue to be informed.  Adhering to nationally accepted standards of educational performance can help schools improve their offerings to their students.

Schools can lose their accreditation by not meeting standards or failing to have their accreditation renewed.   Schools who lose their accreditation could lose their ability to participate in Federal Student Aid.

Who is NACCAS?

The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) is an autonomous, independent accrediting commission constituted as a nonprofit Delaware corporation, with its main office located in Alexandria, Virginia. The Commission’s origins date back to 1969, when two accrediting agencies in the field merged to form the Cosmetology Accrediting Commission (CAC). CAC changed its name to “NACCAS” in 1981.

NACCAS is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (link is external) as a national agency for the institutional accreditation of postsecondary schools and departments of cosmetology arts and sciences, including specialized schools. It presently accredits approximately 1,700 institutions that serve over 120,000 students. These schools offer over twenty (20) courses and programs of study that fall under NACCAS’ scope of accreditation.

Who is ED?

ED is the U.S. Department of Education (link is external).   ED was created in 1980 by combining offices from several federal agencies. ED’s mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access. ED’s 4,200 employees and $68.6 billion budget are dedicated to:

• Establishing policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds.
• Collecting data on America’s schools and disseminating research.
• Focusing national attention on key educational issues.
• Prohibiting discrimination and ensuring equal access to education.

Copyright 2015-16 Kelley Education Inc. | All Rights Reserved |